XZAME

Daily log of my preparation for MGAT

MGAT is the anagram of GMAT which I have been using for sometime to communicate with people to circumvent the mail sniffer, if there are any. Anyways, MGAT stands for Minimum Guaranteed Aggregate Throughput, just in case! Lol!

I have tried them all except studying hard. I have all the material and prepared almost on all the sections and I finally got 570/800 yesterday. To describe in detail,

Verbal:- Raw Score 23 : Percentile 29%

Math:- Raw Score 47 : Percentile 79%

Total:- 570 : Percentile 57%

Where did I possibly go wrong?

One of the mistakes I did was to write a couple of Kaplan CD tests 2007 just 2 days before my exam. It shattered my CR confidence completely. Otherwise, I was expecting about 640 not more than that, honestly. My plan was to give my exam now and give my best shot in February and getting 640 would have been a nice boost nevertheless I will still go ahead with my plan with some changes, of course.

So whats the Plan now?

Effort Logging:

  1. Prepare by logging 5 hours a day even on weekdays.
  2. Log my daily work here in this blog next day, for myself and for others if they happen to find it useful.

Verbal:

What screwed up?

  1. CR no confidence at all. I am confident of getting about 2 questions right. That means about 10 Qns easily were wrong.
  2. SC I got most of them right. I had about 75%(approx.) hit rate. So, I would have got 3-4 Qns wrong.
  3. RC were all really easy because I use to screw up my CR qns. I must have made about 1-2 mistakes.
  4. Thats about a total of 16-18 wrong.

I need to put most of my effort here. Planning to put 80% of my time here.

  1. Prepare CR from CR Bible. [ About 6 days ]
  2. Mark all mistakes from OG and OG+. Go through them throughly for CR, SC and RC.
  3. Do workbooks again.

Quant:

What screwed up?

  1. Word problems. I remember getting a word problem on ratio/percentage wrong.
  2. Inequality in the end.

Task Plan:

  1. Word problems.
  2. Inequality – TIME material, Vertias etc.
  3. Timed exams to improve hit rate and reduce my silly mistakes.

Few more information that I found relevant:

  • Raw score 49 in Math was 93%ile in 2007. If I relatively assume 48 to be 90%ile then 47 would have been 84%ile. Our percentile keeps reducing every coming year.
  • Math: 48, Verb: 39 – Got my friend, 720.
  • Math: 48, Verb: 35 – Got my friend, 650.
  • Math: 47, Verb: 23 – Got me, 570.
  • Math: 49, Verb: 42 – Should get me 750. – My Goal.
  • Math: 48, Verb: 45 – Should get me 750. – My Goal.

My Exam Scores before my actual GMAT:

  1. Powerprep 1 :- V:29 Q:48 – Total:620
  2. Powerprep 2:- V:27 Q:49 – Total:640
  3. Powerprep 3:- V:26 Q:49 – Total:630
  4. Kaplan CAT1:- V:24 Q:38 – Total:540
  5. Kaplan CAT2:- V:23 Q:41 – Total:600
  6. 800Score Test 1:- V:27 Q:48 – Total:660

Aiming for Verbal > 40 will fetch 90+ percentile. Quant > 48 will fetch 93+ percentile.

Standard

Leave a Reply

